Armageddon: New Zealand’s Comic-Con

Poor as I am, there’s one annual event I always set money aside for, the nerdgasm-inducing convention that is the Armageddon Expo.

My sister (in a medieval dress) posing with the TARDIS

My sister (in a medieval dress) posing with the TARDIS

The Auckland Armageddon Expo takes place every Labour Weekend at the ASB Showgrounds. It’s a sci-fi/pop culture/comic book/anime/gaming convention that is New Zealand’s equivalent of Comic-Con. Everywhere you look there are people in amazing costumes – you would not believe the number of Daenerys Targaryens there were this year! There are celebrity panels and stalls selling Doctor Who merchandise; a Magic: The Gathering tournament and a laser tag area – you get the idea.

I ended up buying a Pokémon bikini because how could I not? I also got a Yoda backpack and a Firefly T-shirt.

Inevitably, it isn’t as good as Comic-Con. Comic-Con gets Matt Smith; we get Sylvester McCoy – and we only got him because he happened to be in New Zealand filming for The Hobbit. The Auckland Armageddon has yet to attract a celebrity for whom I would pay a lot of money to stand in line and get their autograph.

armageddon 13 002cropped

EXTERMINATE!

It’s incredibly crowded. You’re lucky to see the stalls unless you spend ages pushing your way to the front. It gets very hot, especially in costume. But I still wouldn’t miss it.

This year, there was a Dalek hovering around. There was also a TARDIS you could get a photo with as well as Han Solo in carbonite.

Basically, if you’re a nerd and you’re travelling in New Zealand, it’d be a good idea to check Armageddon out. At different times of year, there are events in Hamilton, Wellington, Christchurch and Dunedin as well as Auckland.

I’m determined to go to Comic-Con one day, but for now Armageddon is a great way to indulge my nerdiness.

armageddon 13 006cropped

One thought on “Armageddon: New Zealand’s Comic-Con

  1. […] convention, not the actual end of the world.) I usually go to the Auckland Armageddon, but I live in Hamilton now, and I’ve just experienced my first […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

