10 Reasons Living in New Zealand is AWESOME

I moved to New Zealand with my family twelve years ago. At first, I hated my parents for wrenching me away from Mother England, but now I wouldn’t have it any other way. New Zealand is a great country to live in and here’s why:

1)      Nice weather

Somewhere Over the RainbowIt’s common for New Zealanders to complain about the weather. The phrase ‘four seasons in one day’ is used annoyingly often, yet while it can be gloriously sunny in the morning, fooling you into leaving your jacket at home, and then bucket it down in the afternoon, it’s rarely bad for long. Coming from Britain, I can confidently say that New Zealand’s weather is better. It is warmer, drier, sunnier and generally more cheerful. There’s a reason New Zealand’s famous for barbecues and Britain’s not.

2)      Beautiful beaches

Beach 1Nearly three-quarters of all New Zealanders live within five kilometres of a beach, most of which are ten times more beautiful than any beach that Britain has to offer. They are less spoiled for starters, boasting not only pristine sands of the yellow and white variety, but luxurious soft, black volcanic sand. They range from wild, rugged surfing beaches to relaxing swimming and sunbathing beaches, all with picturesque geological features. In Britain, going to the beach was a rare treat; now I can walk to one whenever I want. New Zealand’s beaches are truly a wonder.

3)      Lots of green countryside

In Britain, one of the main things you hear about New Zealand is how green it is. Mostly, this is meant in the sense of the ‘clean, green’ environmentally friendly image, but New Zealand is also green in a literal sense: there is a great deal of protected, unspoiled countryside. Kiwis seem to have an innate appreciation for nature – the great outdoors; God’s own – and pursuits such as camping and tramping are very popular. New Zealand’s native bush is incredibly special and the ‘bush walk’ is something you cannot escape if you come here.

4)      Unique wildlife

New Zealand Tour 2003 003Contained within New Zealand’s bush is a collection of endangered birds that exist nowhere else in the world, the most famous of which is the kiwi. I have never encountered a kiwi in the wild, but seeing a mating pair at Auckland Zoo was an enchanting (and highly amusing) experience. I’ve seen plenty of other examples of New Zealand’s unique wildlife actually in the wild, though. My two favourite native birds are tuis – songbirds with shining plumage adorned by a duet of white baubles at the throat – and keas – alpine parrots with devilish intelligence and barefaced cheek. New Zealand is also the best place in the world to swim with dolphins.

5)      Exotic volcanic activity

White Island 018Depending on your point of view, an abundance of volcanic activity may not seem like a reason to live in a country, but everything – the threat of natural disaster included – is relative, and I for one love living within easy driving distance of the utterly magical sights of geysers, hot pools, mud pools and lava flows. Britain seems boring by comparison. There’s something mysteriously exciting about the eggy smell; the steam rising around you; the thought that the hidden underworld is close at hand. Places like Rotorua and White Island are literally on the edges of the earth.

6)      Small population

Culture 3New Zealand is famous for being a small country – its population has only recently broken the four million mark. Compare that with Britain’s excess of sixty million. But what many people don’t realise is the actual land area of New Zealand is larger than the land area of Britain. No wonder it seems like Brits are perpetually elbowing each other out of the way to get to where they want to be. The people of New Zealand actually have space to breathe. To be individuals. To live.

7)      Friendly people

armageddon 13 001croppedKiwis are an undeniably friendly race. When I first moved to New Zealand, it was almost disconcerting how interested in me strangers were. Brits are so cold by comparison. They also whinge while kiwis maintain a more positive attitude. The people of New Zealand are not so judgemental – image is less important to them – and anything goes. New Zealand has no class system. People from all walks of life end up here. To me, it’s always felt like a safe place, but I didn’t realise how much I’d come to take that security for granted until I returned to England for a visit a few years ago. Kiwis smile at you in the street. If there’s anywhere in the world you can rely on the kindness of strangers, it’s New Zealand.

8)      Laid-back lifestyle

I was a child when my family immigrated to New Zealand, so while I can confidently say that school in New Zealand is easier than school in England, I have never experienced the demands of working life in any country other than New Zealand. However, every adult I’ve talked to who has tells me that life in New Zealand is far simpler than elsewhere in the western world. The wages may be lower, but the quality of life is definitely higher. Life is lived at a slower pace. There is a healthier work-life balance. In New Zealand, expectations are lower – in a good way. There is less pressure. Good enough is good enough. Go with the flow. She’ll be right.

9)      Multicultural society

Montana walkNew Zealand is a country of immigrants – even the Māori, the native inhabitants, are relatively recent arrivals. It is nice to live in a place where tribal culture and the values that go with it are still in evidence. The presence of Māori names, art, customs and tourist experiences make New Zealand unique in the world, not just another European/Americanised western country. Of course, New Zealand is a Europeanised country, but it has so many influences from so many places around the world, especially Asian countries, that it’s a complete melting pot. It has an abundance of wonderful and, compared to Britain at least, relatively cheap restaurants that serve delicious fusions of tastes. Since moving here, I’ve become a real foodie.

10)   It’s already the perfect place for a holiday

dunedin3 027New Zealand is the ultimate holiday destination – even if you already live in it. The country is so varied you can never tire of exploring it, so buy a campervan in New Zealand and get out there! Seriously, you can’t drive anywhere in New Zealand without passing at least one campervan on the road – and it’s easy to see why. This is not a country you can experience from one spot. The North Island is so different from the South; the east coast so different from the west, and it’s down the side roads that the special places lie. So my advice would be to hire a campervan in New Zealand when you come, be it to live or just for a holiday. One thing is guaranteed either way: you’ll never want to go back. Life in New Zealand is AWESOME.

P.S. – This is a list from my new website, NZ Top List. Check it out to browse more lists about life in New Zealand and the many fantastic places to go.

663 Lake Moke 038cropped

8 thoughts on “10 Reasons Living in New Zealand is AWESOME

  1. Amelia Kay says:

    I really like you, you have a very positive attitude not like some people, like people are saying how horrible New Zealand is! and I’ve lived in New Zealand for I think 10 years now and it’s truly BEAUITFUL, I moved with my family when I was just a child, and I’ve really loved it, and when you walk down the street and smile to people or wave they smile back, everyone is really nice, you seem a lot like me.

    Like

  2. kiwipom91 says:

    I think immigrants to new zealand tend to appreciate new zealand a lot more than people who have lived there their whole lives. When new zealanders complain about how bad new zealand is, i just think ‘don’t you realise that all countries have their problems, their good things and their bad things, and, compared to most, new zealand is very good place to be’.

    Like

  3. twinny17 says:

    Thank you I just saw a sight saying how horrible us kiwis are and it really upset me. This cheered me up what people fail to realize is there are good and bad people where ever you go. So when they get treated bad by one asshole over here they assume we are all like that. I love my country I am the 5th generation of my family to live here and yet I still lose my breath at the beauty of our country.

    Like

  4. Shah says:

    Hi, I’m from canada and your blog has some great information about New Zealand. Thank you for sharing it. Me and two of my friends are thinking about moving to New Zealand permanently. We are totally awestruck by the beauty of the country, (specially the climate and the environment) and heard many nice things about kiwis. We are actually studying in university now and plan to move their after finishing our degrees. Would you be kind enough to share some more information, like give me some tips on must do & must know. It would be very helpful & I would really appreciate that.
    Cheers.

    Like

    • kiwipom91 says:

      Yeah, Kiwis like Canadians. The best thing about New Zealand is how beautiful it is. I don’t know how easy it would be for you to get a job here. I got heaps of friends who are recent graduates and heaps of them struggled/are struggling to find work, especially work in their field. I only got a job after I graduated because the employer personally knew me. You hear lots of stories of people who move to New Zealand expecting to find work and just… don’t. Living costs are way more than you think, especially in Auckland, which is where you’re most likely to get a job. My family was lucky. My dad, a high school teacher, had a job already lined up before we moved here, and the school he was working at initially provided a house to rent. Also, it was at a time when the New Zealand Dollar was really low against the British Pound. My top tip would be make sure you’ve got a lot of money saved up before you come here, and also research jobs/housing before you arrive.

      Like

      • Shah says:

        Thank you for replying, there are some helpful tips. I understand that it will not be easy to find a job in my desired field, specially not being from there. I have done some research on the job market, housing and the cost of living and YES it is quite expensive compared to Toronto lol. It compelled me to think twice about moving, but the prospect of living in New Zealand is really alluring. If I move there, I expect to look for employment in my field while working part/full time, for ex, bartending or serving. Besides studying, I currently work as a bartender. Do you think I’ll be able to get a job in that industry during my stay? I have couple more questions regarding NZ. Canada is a very multicultural society, specially Toronto. How would you describe the society in NZ, specially Auckland? I have heard Kiwis are very nice folks, gentle and not racist, unlike Aussies. However, as I researched more about Auckland, I came across some negative comments regarding racial issues, discrimination, crimes etc, which i found very hard to believe. Can you enlighten me a little about this? The reason I’m asking is because, Canada is very tolerant, and multiculturalism is our identity. I have never faced any racial discrimination and I grew up here, (I’m not Caucasian) and I thought Kiwis have similar virtues as us. I am sorry I asked a lot of questions. Anyway thank you once again for replying and take care 🙂
        Cheers

        Like

      • kiwipom91 says:

        Auckland is one of the most multi-cultural places on earth. Of course, there are some racist arseholes, but I spent five years in the centre of Auckland (for university) and interacted with people from all over the world, and while there were racist jokes (such as “if get your laptop wet, put it in a sack of rice – to attract Asians to fix it for you”), there didn’t seem to be much serious racism. At least I didn’t encounter any. As for crime, West Auckland and South Auckland have some very dodgy areas, but are they any more dodgy than the dodgy areas of Toronto? Certainly a lot less dodgy than the normal areas of New York. Compared to England, New Zealand feels very safe. Like I said before, Kiwis tend to feel very kindly towards Canadians. Just make sure you tell them you’re Canadian, or they’ll assume you’re American, and Americans aren’t seen in such a nice light. (The expectation over here is that they’re loud, ignorant, belligerent, superficial religious nut-jobs. Canadians, people think, are nice like us. Of course, as soon as an American shows they aren’t like that, everything’s fine.) Bar work… well if you have experience, you’ve got a way better chance. Just get out and explore the country as soon as you can.

        Like

Leave a Reply

