Great Walks for Wusses: My Top 10 North Island Day Walks

POMS AWAY!

When it comes to outdoor activities, I’m a bit of a wuss. I like tramping – nature, fresh air, fitness – but I don’t like getting muddy. Or sleeping in huts or tents. Or going through streams. Basically, I like to be comfortable. (And what’s wrong with that?)

New Zealand is a very outdoorsy nation. Bush walks are a big thing. The Department of Conservation maintains nine ‘Great Walks’ around the country, but they all take a few days to do. I like walks I can do in less than a day. Happily, New Zealand has more of those than you can count.

As I live in the North Island of New Zealand, I’m more familiar with the North Island’s range of day walks. I haven’t mentioned any South Island tracks for that reason, but from what I have seen of the South Island, the walks down there are…

View original post 1,179 more words

Leave a Reply

