Back to Blighty, or Poms Away Up Top

I’m back in New Zealand! I wanted to write a new post this week, but I’m afraid I caught something rather nasty on the plane. (Not Ebola.) So, instead, here’s the last post I wrote before leaving for Europe. Enjoy.

POMS AWAY!

I’m so excited. I’m about to go to Europe for three months and my first stop is England. My home. I haven’t seen it in six years.

I moved to New Zealand when I was ten. I’m twenty-three now and, in thirteen years, I’ve only been back to England once. I was seventeen then and I loved it. I hadn’t, as my parents said, idealised it in my mind. The good bits were just as good as I remembered. This time, however, will be different.

This time, I will have my boyfriend with me.

Milford Sound Milford Sound, a place in New Zealand so beautiful that Rudyard Kipling called it the eighth wonder of the world

My boyfriend is a New Zealander. He’s grown up taking it for granted that he lives in the most beautiful country on earth. He, like most New Zealanders, thinks England is a dreary, grotty, rainy place…

View original post 477 more words

One thought on “Back to Blighty, or Poms Away Up Top

  1. […] boyfriend, starting in my native Britain. In the last post I wrote before leaving New Zealand, (Back to Blighty, or Poms Away Up Top,) I said I was nervous about returning to England. Basically, I was worried that my boyfriend, […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

